Lock Users Out During File Maintenance in Dynamics GP

Posted by Carla Duquette on June 13, 2017


There are many instances when you need to prevent users from logging into Microsoft Dynamics GP.  For example,

  • File maintenance
  • Year-end close

No problem.  Dynamics GP comes with a tool to take your company offline, which prevents users from logging in.

Here’s how:

  1. Log into Dynamics GP as 'sa'
  2. Navigate to Administration / Utilities / System / Take Company Offline
  3. Highlight the company you need to lock users out of and click on insert – it should move to the right side, Offline Companies.
  4. You can use the default message at the bottom of the window or create a custom one.
  5. Click on OK at the top.

 

When you are done with maintenance, or keeping users out of Dynamics GP, you simply go in and reverse the process.

  1. Log into Dynamics GP as 'sa'
  2. Navigate to Administration / Utilities / System / Take Company Offline
  3. Highlight the company you need to lock users out of and click on Remove – it should now move back to the left side, Online Companies.
  4. Click on OK at the top.

 

If you have questions, or need assistance, send an email to our team of Dynamics GP experts at Support@Crestwood.com.


Share this:
 
 

Comments:

Add your comment: